Edition Structure

Volume I (1942-1943), Volume II (1944-1946):

Establishing the Fair Employment Practice Committee Foundation for the Modern Civil Rights Movement

Volume III (1946-1950), Volume IV (1951-1954):

Consolidating the FEPC Legacy at the NAACP

Volume V (1955-1957), Volume VI (1958-1960):

Struggles to Pass the 1957 Civil Rights Act and the 1960 Civil Rights Act

Volume VII (1961-1964):

Struggle to Pass the 1964 Civil Rights Act

Volume VIII (1965-1968):

Struggles to Pass the 1965 Voting Rights Act and the 1968 Fair Housing Act

Volume IX (1969-1978):

Struggle to Pass the Equal Employment Opportunity Act of 1972, and Consolidating the Legacy of the 1957 Civil Rights Act; the 1960 Civil Rights Act; the 1964 Civil Rights Act; the 1965 Voting Rights Act; the 1968 Fair Housing Act Through Adoption of Enforcement Policies by the Executive Branch